All-University Leadership Conference


Section 1

All-U Conference Past Themes

These are themes from the past 35 Years! 

Program Highlights

Established in 1984, the Randy Lewis All-University Leadership Conference is now in its 36th year. This conference is the premier leadership opportunity for UCI students. The annual program involves approximately 200 emerging and established student leaders representing the full diversity of the campus. This program is the only one of its kind among the University of California campuses. The Cross-Cultural Center's Summer Multicultural Leadership Institute (SMLI) case study winners are sponsored to attend the program being the only first-year students present at the conference. UCI’s Chancellor and other campus executives have participated in this program since its inception.

The conference includes:

  • Workshops on various topics including:
    • Racial climate, diversity and social justice
    • Career decision-making and preparation
    • Free speech
    • Community building
    • Skills building (public speaking, communication, etiquette, time management, strengths, etc.)
    • Personal branding
    • Self-care and wellness
  • Keynote speaker
  • Networking with students, faculty and staff
  • Opportunity to address campus political, social, and cultural issues
  • Student entertainment
  • Team building activities

Previous conference Keynoters have included:

  • Kenneth Bentley, UCI Alumnus and Vice President for Community Affairs, Nestle USA
  • Michael Berry, President and Chief Operating Officer, The Cheesecake Factory
  • Father Gregory Boyle, Executive Director and Founder of Homeboy Industries
  • Erwin Chemerinsky, Founding Dean, UC Irvine School of LawRalph Cicerone, Chancellor, UC IrvineSteve Farber, President, Extreme Leadership IncorporatedDawn Fraser, Storyteller
  • Jennifer Friend, UCI ’95, CEO, Project Hope Alliance, Chair Elect, UCI Alumni Association
  • S. Sue Johnson, Chairman of The Regents of the University of California
  • Clark Kerr, President Emeritus, University of California
  • Mingo Lee, UCI ’90, Founder and CEO, Wahoo’s Fish Tacos
  • Barry Munitz, President, The J. Paul Getty Trust
  • Julie Newcomb Hill, President, Costain Homes
  • Henry Samueli, Co-Chairman and Chief Technical Officer, Broadcom Corporation
  • John Speraw, Head Coach, UCI Men’s VolleyballSara Sperling, UCI Alumna and Head of Diversity and Inclusion for FacebookSasha Strauss, UCI Alumnus and CEO of Innovation Protocol
  • Joseph White, Professor Emeritus, Psychology and Psychiatry, University of California, Irvine
  • Lori White, Associate Vice-President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, San Diego State University
  • Alumni Panel including: Ben Teller (‘12), Daphne Felicitas (‘01), Sheefteh Khalili (’06 and ‘17), Stella Liu (‘15), and Sunny Al-Shamma (‘88)

The number of conference “alumni” exceeds 7,750 students.


Conference Goals

Student Pride and Spirit: To promote campus spirit and inspire students to become proud and effective leaders.

Student Empowerment: To raise awareness about campus issues and empower students to pursue meaningful involvements in university governance.

Campus Culture: To better understand and value the diversity within the campus culture and to appreciate how diversity can positively affect the UCI community.

Leadership Styles and Skills: To better understand different leadership styles and to strengthen one’s personal leadership skills.

Integrity and Values-Based Decision Making: To promote leadership integrity and values-based decision making.

Student, Faculty, and Administrative Relations: To fortify linkages and invigorate communication between student, faculty, and administrative leaders.

Destination Leadership

Cultivating the Super Leader in You

More Past Themes

Section 2

All-U 2016
All-U 2015
All-U 2014

Section 3

All-U 2013
All-U 2012
All-U 2013

Section 4

All-U 2010
All-U 2009
All-U 2008

Section 5

All-U 2007
All-U 2006
All-U 2005

Section 6

All-U 2004
All-U 2003
All-U 2002

Section 7

All-U 2001
All-U 2000
All-U 1999

Section 8

All-U 1998
All-U 1997
All-U 1996

Section 9

All-U 1995
All-U 1994
All-U 1993

Section 10

All-U 1992
All-U 1992
All-U 1990

Section 11

All-U 1989
All-U 1988
All-U 1987

Section 12

All-U 1986
All-U 1985
All-U 1984